Banana Sour Cherry Muffins


I’m going to jinx myself: tonight was good. Our area is flooded, so many of my friends and family are trying to keep their basements dry. But despite last night’s epic five-year-old-Monkey-meltdown and subsequent restrictions/consequences; we managed to have very minimal melt downs, played ball with the dogs (inside, the yard is a water logged, sodden mess), cleaned a bit, and I even finally baked my banana muffins! 

Yup, totally going to jinx myself. It’s started to rain. Should have just kept my mouth shut! 

I’ve been jamming my way through my CSA fruit share as, when I ordered my fruit share, we were a family of four. Not so much now and there is way too much for us to eat. My share this week was blueberries, sour cherries, and apricots. The blueberries will be eaten and/or frozen, same with the apricots. But what to do with the cherries? More jam? I had some rather “dead” bananas and decided to add some diced cherries to banana bread muffins.

I based my recipe off No-Fat Banana Applesauce Muffins. Couple changes: I used brown sugar not white, added the cherries (about 1/2 cup pitted and diced). I think next time I would increase the cinnamon and maybe add vanilla. 

INGREDIENTS

  • 34 cups flour
  • 12 cup brown sugar
  • 1  teaspoon baking powder
  • 12 teaspoon baking soda
  • 12 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 12 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 12 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup banana (about 3 very ripe), mashed
  • 12 cup sour cherries, pitted and diced
  • 12 cup unsweetened applesauce

DIRECTIONS

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
  2. Coat 12-cup muffin pan with coconut oil or other similar oil.
  3. Combine the dry ingredients and mix well. In stand mixer bowl (or other separate bowl of hand mixing), mix all the wet ingredients until eggs are well combined. Add  dry mixture in slowly until combined. Using a spatula, fold in diced cherries (you don’t want to liquidize them with the beaters).
  4. Scoop into muffin tin.
  5. Bake for 15 – 25 minutes. (My oven baked right around 20 minutes). Test tops, if they “spring back” or a wooden toothpick comes out clean, they are done!
  6. Let the cool a few minutes in the pan, then transfer to cooling rack. Enjoy warm or cool. Freeze nicely too.  
About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

