What’s for dinner: Broccoli and Carrot Soup

I had an abundance of broccoli in the fridge this week and didn’t have any ham to make my go-to scalloped potatoes dinner. It was a mix of stems and florets as I don’t generally steam the stems as part of dinner. 

But what to make?

I really miss the simple “cream of” soups and now that I’m totally dairy free, it’s not easy to find a replacement in the store. I found a very simple cream of broccoli soup and adapted it a bit. Worked out to five two cup servings at 98 calories for a serving! I cooked up some Italian sausage and tossed it in before serving. My two year old ate it up (but don’t call it soup… “No soup!” Call it sauce and put it on a plate… Whatever works) and my almost five year old… Well she never eats dinner. Hubby and I thought it was fantastic and I will make it again.

Ingredients
1 tbsp oil of your choice
1 medium onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, crushed
1 tsp herbs de provence
3 medium carrots, chopped
4 cups broccoli, chopped
4 cups broth of your choice
1/2 cup full fat coconut milk
Salt & Pepper to taste

Directions
Heat oil on medium low heat in a large pot, then add onion and garlic until fragrant and onion is starting to become translucent. Then add herbs de provence cook until fragrant, then add carrots and broccoli. Cook for a few minutes, the add the broth and coconut milk. Salt and pepper, then cover pot and bring to a boil. Once boiling reduce heat to a simmer and cook until.veggies are soft. 

You can either cool, then blend with an.immersion blender or carefully blend while hot. I was not eating right away, so I cooled, blended, and reheated. 

Serve with protein of choice.

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

