Recycled Shoebox Seed Storage

image

A friend of mine posted this Seed Storage idea on Facebook, like a good and slightly obsessed pinner (aren’t we all?) I pinned the link for future use. This year my veggie garden received a facelift in the form of a complete rebuild (thanks Hubby!) and I was able to plant more veggies. I’m also starting more plants from seeds and at the end of this planting season I had three medium sized Tupperwares full of various seeds (with a few doubles…). It only took me two weeks to complete this project. A project that would likely take someone without a nursing-obsessed five month-old and a attention-starved three year-old (both perfectly normal, but no less frustrating at times) about an hour to complete.

But it is finished!

I now know I have every type of squash on the planet and need to buy parsnip seeds.

I did have to make mine slightly differently as my shoebox was not wide enough, so I did mine horizontally. Luckily, the Cheerios boxes from Costco and Sam’s Club were long enough to make the dividers. Since it was more tricky to make the dividers due to my box options, I opted to not cut the dividers tops into tab shapes. Instead I used paper cut into strips and taped to the tops of the dividers for labels.

Now I can’t wait for Spring so I can use my seeds!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in DIY, Gardening, Projects In-an-Evening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

