After Bump Bum: What’s on the Bum?

We are now in full swing cloth diapering #2. Monkey and Baby Bear are shaped differently and, therefore, the diapers fit differently.

Monkey’s chicken legs kinda, sorta filled out by the time she was three/four months.  At that point she was also starting to play with table foods (closer to the four month point and play is certainly the word) so her poop started to change. Baby Bear is chunkier than Monkey was, but still not a chunk (no baby rolls) and is three months tomorrow (how time flies). As for food, this kiddo will likely stay EBF (exclusively breast fed) until six months. She’s getting everything she needs right now.

With Monkey, at four months, gone were the days of EBF poop…

If you don’t EBF then you probably do not understand why this change was so important.  EBF poop looks like mustard seeds, has no real smell, and can just be tossed into the washer without washing the diaper.  Once food is introduced (or formula for that matter) poop becomes more solid and is no longer able to just go through the washer as part of the wash cycle (more about diaper washing another day!).

So what’s on the bum at this point? 

Flip Cover and Prefold

Flip Cover and Prefold on Monkey

With Monkey we relied on prefolds and covers. From newborn to young toddler we just upgraded to the larger sizes for the prefolds and moved to Flip covers and also some Econobum.  Personally, I prefer the Flip as I like the two tab snap option as I feel like it keeps the “wings” of the diaper from dropping better (the “wings” refers to the other snap and fabric area that sits on the hips that can make the diaper fit on a chunkier monkey). Monkey remained a skinny-mini all through her diapering years and did not fit into pocket diapers until she was around four months. Her legs were just too thin get a good, tight fit. I bought the Flip covers (mostly) as certified seconds.  They are perfectly fine, maybe a pen mark or two or a snag on the fabric… certainly worth it to me.  Cloth diapering does not need to be expensive, in fact it should save you money! Do I have a few that are not seconds or used? Of course, but the majority of my purchases are sale, clearance, or seconds.  Just keep your eyes out for deals!

For Baby Bear things a bit different. I still like prefolds, but as she is bigger pocket diapers fit her much better. It is also three years later and there are so many more options! Unlike Monkey, Baby Bear is a heavy wetter and pees through inserts that would lasted Monkey overnight. She has out grown her newborn prefolds I now use them to stuff her pocket diapers; which are a collection of Happy Flute, Sunbaby, Rump-a-rooz, Apple Cheeks, Bumgenius, Blueberry, and Diper Rite. We also use hemp and bamboo inserts from various companies. They all work about the same. Most diapers come with micro fiber (MF) inserts. I do not use them. Why you ask.

Compression leaks.

These are bad. MF is a very thirsty material. It soaks up the pee. Great right? Wrong. The material is also easy to wring out. We baby wear. This puts compression on the diaper… see where this is going? I don’t know about you, but I don’t want pee soaking into my clothing. Now paired with a slow to soak hemp insert MF is great. Allows your heavy, fast wetter to soak the MF and the slowly transfer to the hemp. Who knew this was such a science!

Snaps vs Velcro/Hook and Loop
I prefer snaps for older children, but for newborns I think you get a better fit with hook and loop.  The reason I prefer snaps is longevity.  Hook and loop can get caught on things in the wash, get fuzz in it, and the loops start to lose their ability to attach correctly.  Even using laundry tabs, I found hook and loop just does not last as well over time.  I prefer the snaps since I am doing this to not only do something better for the earth, but also to save money! Also, hook and loop is easier to take off. This makes unscheduled toddler naked time even more likely…

What about Daycare? 

Sunbaby on Monkey

Sunbaby on Monkey

We CD exclusively, meaning even at daycare. When Monkey first went to daycare using cloth was one of the requirements for the daycare we used. I did not want to use cloth at home and buy disposals for daycare, defeated the purpose of buying them. I ordered a couple different cheaper pocket diapers; often referred to as “China cheapies” because, they are from China and are cheap! Many people balk at this because they are worried about the lower regulations, poor conditions for the workers, not buying American made, and likely other things. I understand this, I also do not want to spend a ton on diapers for daycare when they could get damaged at daycare. There are many companies – Sunbaby, Alva, THX, Happy Flute, and Kawaii. I prefer Sunbaby for daycare as they, in my opinion, fit well (on my kiddos) and are simple to use. I like my Happy Flute diapers, but they are mine for at home… they have a different tummy panel and look less like disposals. I decided I wanted to get diapers that looked the most like disposals to help convince daycare that they could do this!

Note: You may have noticed there are no links to Happy Flute or THX. I purchased these diapers through co-ops on Facebook and could not find direct links to the companies. You can get them on Amazon or through co-ops.

Curious about newborn cloth diapering? Here is what we did.

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cloth Diapers, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

