Toddler Crafts (Mother’s Day Edition): Terracotta Pot Butterfly Footprint

2015-05-10 19.45.50

Because I am that parent. You know the one, Pinterest full of ideas and actually tries to make them; and, as a result, my friends and family are constantly finding projects for me! I’m not kidding when I say that five different people sent/tagged/posted/told me about a post they saw about making butterflies from the kiddos feet on pots for the garden. Find the original post here (Footprint Butterfly Flower Pot). The writer does note she took inspiration from elsewhere and there are tons on Pinterest that are very similar.

Before starting this project I wanted to make sure it would last. We are a gardening family and a pot needs to be used as a pot. I find this site which gave me a starting point How to Paint a Pot. With that said, I did not paint the inside of the pot.

Two reasons:

1. I’m not painting the entire outside of the pot either so any moisture going out the bottom through the drainage hole would seep up the sides anyway.
2. I have an infant and threenager… ‘nough said!

I have done many footprint/handprint crafts, I feel pretty confident on the logistics. This was more tricky. The terracotta is not forgiving. With canvas you screw up and up wipe it clean. The paint sinks into the terracotta’s pores as soon as it touches, so beware!

Project: Terracotta Pot Footprint Butterfly
Difficulty: Moderate
Time: Varies (took me multiple days, because – infant and threenager)
Supplies:
IMAG0087Terracotta Pot (found all over, even in the Dollar Store)
Patio Paint (colors of your choice, found mine at Hobby Lobby)
Foam and Regular Paint Brushes
Willing Child(ren) (If doing with an infant, enlist help from an adult or older child)
Wipes (clean up)

Paint one foot at a time. I decided to do multiple colors, but would could just do one. The paint dries quickly so beware, the clock is ticking. After pressing the foot to the pot, clean up with a wipe and do the next foot. Don’t worry if it’s not perfect, you can fix it by painting in missing toes or filling in a heal. Or just leave it as is, up to you.

2015-05-09 21.51.00Once both feet are done let dry until touch dry. Does not take long, maybe a few minutes. Go over the footprint with a second coat of the paint, filling in any areas you want to. Also paint in the butterfly’s body in your choice of color. Some people used a permanent marker, I was concerned about fading so opted for paint. This should also have two coats.

2015-05-10 09.16.51Add your kiddos names and the date (mine is in the bottom) and voila!

Happy Mother’s Day Granna!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in DIY, Projects In-an-Evening, Toddler Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

