Into the New Year: What on earth to do with all that ham…

We had Christmas at our house this year, which meant left overs attacked my refrigerator! The roast beef was mostly gone, but the spiral ham was never going to be eaten in sandwiches alone.

What is a girl to do? Oh yes, Split Pea Soup and Ham Scalloped Potatoes freezer meal. You could also use the diced ham in an omelet, a breakfast casserole, a version of corned beef hash, or a risotto. The possibilities are really quite endless, and so it seems is my left over ham!

Split Pea Soup
This hearty, veggie packed soup is great for cold days/nights and since it cooks all day in the slow cooker it is perfect for the end of a busy day or to serve to guests (the recipe serves 8).

Adapted from: Whole Foods Market

Ingredients:
Serves 8

1 (16 ounce) package dried green split peas, rinsed
1 meaty ham bone, 2 ham hocks or 2 cups diced ham
2-3 diced carrots
1 med yellow onion, chopped
2 ribs celery, chopped
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 bay leaf
2 tbsp dried parsley
Salt and pepper to taste
6 cups chicken broth

Rinse the peas and the place them on the bottom of your slow cooker. Then layer the remaining ingredients over the peas. Because I was using the ham bones from my spiral ham, layering was not really possible. I placed the onion, celery, and carrots around the ham bone(s) and then added some diced ham on top along with the parsley. I decided not to season with salt and pepper until the end, so I could taste it first. Then just pour the broth on top and cover up. Just leave it, I know it’s tempting to stir, but don’t. Plus the bones make it hard to stir.

At the end of cooking, remove the bones, and now you can stir. I prefer a pureed split pea soup, so I used my immersion blender to get the consistency I wanted. I cracked the top a bit to allow the soup to thicken a bit more. All personal choices 🙂 I did add salt and pepper at this point and it turned out amazing. My family came over for dinner and we are this with a nice side of fresh bread. Simple, delish meal.

Ham and Scalloped Potatoes

Adapted from: Six-Cents

Ingredients
Serves approx 4

Cream of Soup Substitute
1 1/4 cup of water
2 cups of diced ham
2 cups chopped broccoli
Salt and pepper to taste
4oz shredded cheese
Approx 6 med potatoes*

*used the day of and not frozen

This recipe originally called for a can of whatever-you-wanted cream soup. I decided to go with a homemade version for two reasons: I’m due with number two in about a month and with Monkey she was dairy sensitive, so I’m just getting dairy out of my life for a bit incase this one is too. The other reason is have you ever looked at what is in those? The sodium alone should give someone pause.

So I made a simple chicken cream of soup using the following version:

3tbsp coconut oil
3tbsp flour
1 1/4 cup of chicken stock
Pepper to taste (I left out the salt because the meal will get salted anyway)

Melt the coconut oil over med heat, once melted combine with the flour. Stir until combined. Then add in the stock, whisking to avoid clumps. Bring to a boil to thicken and season with pepper. Done! I let it cool before combining with the rest of the ingredients.

Combine everything (I left out the cheese because dairy and Hubby is still anti-cheese) in a ziptop bag, label with the month and year along with the following:

Cook low 6-8hrs
The night before, slice your potatoes into 1/4 slices and soak in water. (This prevents the “my potatoes turned black” issue. Toss the water and layer then at the bottom of the slow cooker.)

This is one of Hubby’s fav slow cooker meals. So whenever we have left over ham, this is a go to. I also usually double this so that I have two meals in the freezer. Which will likely be a good thing in the coming months!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Freezer Meals, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

