Operation No Biting Our Friends…

Monkey went to preschool today and decided that a friend of her’s was not going to play with the bike she wanted to play with, so she snacked on his arm.
Monkey is not a zombie.

We had already told her that if she bit her friends (or enemies… parents… grandparents…) She would lose a Thomas toy. Some people will likely say,  “She’s only two, she can’t comprehend that sort of future consequence.” To them I say, “and…?” When I picked her up and her teacher told me what she did, I looked at her and said, “You know what that means, you lose a Thomas toy when you get home.” She looked at me and said, “uhuh.”

She told me who she bit and told me she said sorry. She said sorry to me for doing it and I told her to go pick out a Thomas for her to lose. She picked her Thomas training pants. I attached them to the fridge and reminded her again why they were there. I asked her if she wanted to earn them back and she said yes. So we waited for Hubby to come home to discuss what she would do.

image

Hubby felt the undies weren’t enough of a punishment and, although, I agree, this was the first time so I decided to let her pick.

At dinner I asked her if she thought cleaning her room up was a good chore to earn her underwear back. She agreed.

We talked about why we were doing what we were doing and she again told me who she bit and that she lost Thomas because of it. We cleaned her room and she earned them back.

Let’s see how this goes! If anything we are setting the ground work for future discipline. I felt that she needed to earn them back same day because she might not have the same association with what happened tomorrow. With an older kid I would probably stretch it out a few days.

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

