Kitchen Sink Cooking: Snow Pea and Sesame Rice Pilaf

I am now starting to be able to walk down to my veggie patch and harvest some fresh veggies for dinner. The other night it was kale and tonight it was snow peas.

2014-07-06 17.42.07Summer has finally decided to to show up in Chicagoland (which would be lovely, accept our A/C has decided it does not want to work) which means my snows peas are about to die. They are a cool season plant and since the “cool season” this year was rather… missing… they were not very productive. That’s okay, I got one meal! (we had plenty of COLD, but the cool part was the issue). It also did not help that I think I had like six plants come up, but again, I blame the weather.

Snow Pea and Sesame Rice Pilaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 tablespoon Oriental sesame oil
  • 1/2 tablespoon unsalted butter
  • 1/3 cup finely chopped onion
  • 1 teaspoon grated peeled ginger root
  • 1/3 cup long-grain rice
  • 1 cup homemade veggie broth
  • 1/4 pound snow peas, trimmed and cut into 1/2-inch pieces (about 2/3 cup)

2014-07-06 17.39.53I adapted this recipe’s ingredients strictly based on what I had in the house. The original called for scallions and toasted sesame seeds – I just did not have them in the house and was not going to the store to get them. Otherwise, I would have used them and think they would be amazing in the dish. Also the original wanted you to make this all in the microwave, which was just strange to me, so I did it stove top which was fine.

2014-07-06 17.40.32In a non-stick pot combine the oil and the butter, cook on medium heat until the butter melts and the oil is hot.  Then add the onion and the ginger root and cook until the onion is softened. Add the rice and the broth, bring to a boil, and reduce to a simmer. Cook until the rice is tender and the liquid is absorbed.

2014-07-06 17.41.05

Stir in the snow peas. Let the pilaf stand, covered for a few minutes to allow the snow peas to come to temperature of the rice, but long enough for them to become mushy.

Serve as a side to protein of your choice. We had grilled steak.

2014-07-06 17.41.36Although Monkey was not a fan (the onion was trying to kill her, or so you would think by the way she reacted… oh to be two…) hubby and I loved this dish and I actually think I liked it more than the steak; although, that’s not saying much as I am not huge red meat fan.

 

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Gardening, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

