The Next Chapter of Cloth Diapers: Cloth Pull-ups

2014-05-30 13.01.31Monkey is two years old now. She certainly has learned the word “no,” her favorite color is purple, and she LOVES Thomas the Tank Engine…. and I do mean LOVES, it’s an obsession really. So now what?

Ah yes, potty training. Time to break away from the diaper-pail chains and move toward wet shoes and damp car seats. I really think parents leave their children in diapers until the last possible minute because, lets be honest, once they get use to them they are damn convenient.

With that said, she is ready… but are we?

Now what’s going to be on her bum? When at home and at Granna’s house she is just in regular old undies (Hello Kitty and Peppa Pig respectively) since if she pee’s, she pee’s. We just clean the floor and move on. But in the car, at pre-school, and just out and about… what on earth to do?

So far we have test driven: Blueberry Trainers, Super Undies Pull-ups and Snap-on, and Flip Potty Training Pant.

Blueberry Trainers – These have super cute prints. We have the monkey print (shocking I know), the giraffe print, and the cow print. They feel more like real underwear, just thicker. There is a hidden layer of PUL to prevent couches from getting wet; however, the elastic around the legs and waist do wick the moisture away from the soaker over a short period of time. So if you don’t know they have peed or they are sitting in their car seat wearing these training pants, this could be an issue. They also do not line dry very quickly. They can be dried in the dryer, but I am cheap and like my washing line.

Super Undies: Pull-ups – These are a bit more on the boring side when it comes to design, but functionally they are quite nice. They do not seem to wick moisture in the same way that the Blueberry Trainers did; however, like the Blueberry Trainers, they do not dry very quickly due to the thickness. The version I tried does not have a pocket and is more like a AIO. There is a pocket version which might be better on the dry time. Also approx $20 retail (or slightly cheaper on outlet).

Super Undies: Snap-on – Again, boring fabric, but functionally right now these are my favorite. Because they unsnap they dry quicker. I can use a thick soaker for nap time (which has been working wonderfully) or nothing at all as there is a built in small soaker. I only have two of these and I am already thinking of picking up a few more. Right now I am trying to decide on the size as the small on the largest setting right now. Approx $20 retail (or slightly cheaper on outlet).

Flip Training Pant System – I received these as a hand-me-down (so excited!) and they are getting a test drive at pre-school today. I decided this was the easiest way to go for school as the PUL cover will keep clothing dry and the inserts can be changed easily and frequently. I only have one cover and 5 or 6 inserts so I do need to get some more (if things went well today). For a cover and three inserts you are going to spend $30. I am thinking I need aprox 3 covers and 10 inserts – maybe 15. This would get us through three days of pre-school (at least the 15 inserts would). Monkey usually attends pre-school two days a week. These would also likely work for day trips etc since that was another concern of mine.

There are many other brands out there – GroVia has a training pant and there is Antsy Pants. I was not a fan of GroVia when she was little so maybe that is why I have not gotten one to try and Antsy pants look very similar to GroVia and are expensive! I can get a Flip cover and inserts for basically the same price. They might be amazing, but I can not say.

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cloth Diapers and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Next Chapter of Cloth Diapers: Cloth Pull-ups

  1. Valerie says:

    I had no idea there were so many different types of cloth training pants! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

