Kitchen Sink Cooking: Breaded Chicken Tenders

We are finally into our own place. We moved in April and there are still more boxes floating around than I can count; however, life is starting to fall back into a normal rhythm. Yup – cooking, cleaning, sleeping, the occasional bout of marital discord, and more cleaning (two dogs + toddler + back yard that resembles a jungle = mess). Shortly after we moved in I went through and made some freezer meals. Mostly ones we had already had and knew we liked. With summer quickly approaching (and spring forgetting to show up in Chicagoland) I wanted to come up with freezer meal options that are salad friendly. Not just the side salad type of friendly, that I can do with frozen pizza. I want other options. Enter chicken tenders. I have been making these for years. The recipe has been tweeked slightly over the years, mostly as I became more confident in the kitchen, but the basics have remained the same. 2014-05-21 17.02.50 - CopyIngredients: 2 Packages of Chicken Tenders (approx 14 chicken tenders; I do not mess with cutting up the breasts myself, lazy I know). 3 Eggs 1 tbsp Mayonnaise 1 tbsp Yellow Mustard 2-3 cups Plain Breadcrumbs 1 tbsp Italian Seasoning Salt and Pepper to Taste Oil (preferably spray version) Before cracking that first egg, set up your station. I am rather grossed out by uncooked chicken. It is not because I am scared of getting sick, but because it is slimy and just not my favorite thing. So having stations when cooking is partly because I am crazy and party because it does help keep things clean and orderly (plus, yes less likely for the getting sick thing). I use four stations: Station one – the chicken. I usually use the tray it comes on, but you can also use a plate. Next station is a bowl for the egg mixture. Station three a dish for the breadcrumbs (I used a square baking dish) and, lastly, station four, a clean plate to put your assembled tenders. 2014-05-21 17.07.42For the egg mixture, beat the eggs, mayonnaise, mustard, salt and pepper until evenly combined. Note: you may need more or less of this mixture depending on the size of your tenders. In the next dish, combine the breadcrumbs and the Italian seasoning. 2014-05-21 17.10.39 Dredge the chicken tenders in the egg mixture and then allow the access to drip off, they just need to be coated. Then place the tender in the breadcrumbs and ensure it is completed covered in a thin layer of breadcrumbs. Lay on the plate as you assemble the remaining, allowing the egg mixture to soak into the breadcrumbs before cooking. This helps the breadcrumbs stay on the chicken tender during cooking. 2014-05-21 17.32.36Spritz a griddle or fry pan with oil and place the chicken tenders in a single layer, cooking on medium. Cooking the tenders slowly ensures the breadcrumbs will brown and not burn. Spritz the pan when you flip the chicken tenders to ensure the other side browns as well. Cook until juices run clear. Enjoy with a side salad and/or fries. I bought my tenders when they were buy one get one free at my local store. I made all of them (approximately 30 tenders) at once. The leftovers from dinner cooled on a baking rack while we ate. I then layered a cookie sheet with wax paper, put the tenders on the cookie sheet in a single layer, and froze them. Once frozen, I stored them in a ziptop bag labeled with when they were made. To reheat, bake from frozen at 350 degrees F until heated through. Also try a spin of Chicken Parmesan – bake covered with pasta sauce and cheese! 2014-05-21 22.11.16 - Copy

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Freezer Meals, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen Sink Cooking: Breaded Chicken Tenders

  1. Valerie says:

    Oh, yum!

Leave a Reply

