Kitchen Sink Group Cooking: Freezer Meals

Life is always better when there is a group of friends involved.  Since moving early summer of 2013, I have been working on building friendships in my new hometown area.  I like to believe that it is going well! I joined a Mom’s Group (although in name it is a family group… lets be honest, the moms are the ones that are more active!) and we do a number of different things.  A number of the moms have returned to some type of work in the last year and we have started a monthly-ish freezer meals party.  We get together and prep 10 meals to be cooked/reheated when needed.  The majority have been slow cooker meals, but we are looking to branch out next time with other ideas.

The Menu

This month I came up with the menu.  I tend to like the meals by Saving you Dinero as they have great flavor and are quite simple.  I settled on:

Salsa Verde Pork

I have made this and I thought it was very flavorful.  We served it with rice but you could also have it in burritos.

Garlic Honey Chicken

I have no made this yet and have no feedback from others as to if they liked it.  I smells amazing though!

Teriyaki Pork Chops 

Served with mash and peas... Monkey loved the mash and peas, she did try to pork.

Served with mash and peas… Monkey loved the mash and peas, she did try to pork.

I really enjoyed the flavor of this.  My only complaint is the pork became a bit dry.  This is likely due to the number of hours I had it cooking (just based on the length of the workday).  I did start to defrost it over night so maybe leaving it frozen solid would have changed this, but I doubt it.

Chicken Fajitas

I was told by one of the moms that she and her family had this meal and really enjoyed it.  I have not tried it yet, but will likely this week.

Sweet & Sour Chicken

Also on the list for this week (or maybe next week depending).  I am really hopeful that this is good.  I love sweet and sour chicken, so I want it to be good!

The Process

How on earth did five women make all this without someone getting stabbed with a knife?  Good question.

Stations!  We learned that it works best if we divide and conquer.  I posted the recipes up around the room for all to see and then each person worked their tasks (chopping, crushing, opening, measuring, etc).  We learned to get the big thing of already skinned garlic (saves time) and that yellow onions are evil and make me cry.  Also to write the name of the recipe, the date, our name, and any instructions (or food requests – low sodium) on the zip top bag ahead of time.

We doubled everything as the recipes linked above only makes one meal and we wanted two of each.  This can back fire as if you hate the meal, you have to eat it again… or give it away?  We had that with another meal we made the month before that was very tasteless.  I haven’t made it again yet, but I will mess with it to flavor it up (somehow).

Fun way to spend an afternoon, plus a good way to ensure our families have healthy meals that are quick to cook the day of.

 

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Sink Cooking, Life, Moms Group, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

