Kitchen Sink Cooking: Baked Turkey Pork Meatballs

I am trying to come up with different meals to serve the fam… it is a little more tricky being with my parents since now I need to take their likes/dislikes into consideration.  Hubby is anti cheese unless it is in a grilled cheese sandwich or on pizza and fish.  Dad is anti veggies unless they are carrots, peas, or spinach (the last one always confuses me). Mum and I will basically eat anything.  Honestly, the veggie one is harder than the cheese one… with cheese you just add it at the end.  With veggies, it’s hard to not cook them in with the rest of the meal (for slow cookers or casseroles).

IMG_5593Today I gave a go at a baked meatball.  We already had frozen turkey so I picked up some pork and came up with the following – loosely based on Alton Brown’s Baked Meatball recipe.

Ingredients
1lb ground pork
1lb ground turkey
3oz chopped frozen spinach
1 egg
4 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp dried basil
1 tsp dried oregano
1 tsp dried parsley
1 tbsp dried onion
1/2 cup bread crumbs

Thaw the frozen spinach and drain really well.  I re-chopped it as Monkey is not a big fan of the texture of spinach.  It became really tiny bits which almost look like a fresh spice.  Maybe a good way to hide veggies if you need to do that.

I mixed the spinach, garlic, and spices together then added the meat.  Only because the turkey needed to defrost a bit more.  Combine the spinach, garlic, spices, meats, egg, and 1/4 a cup of the bread crumbs.  Save the other 1/4 until ready to bake.

Either cook them now or within 24hrs (throw the mixture into the fridge if waiting to cook until later).  Scoop an ice cream scoop sized amount out and roll into a ball.  Coat with the remaining bread crumbs (I did use a bit more than 1/4 cup of bread crumbs) and put each one into the cup of a muffin pan.  Bake at 400 degrees until internal temps are 160 (about 20 mins).

Makes 26 meatballs – serving size 3 meatballs – 214 calories.

I plan to serve it with my home made tomato sauce over pasta or spaghetti squash… and likely some Texas Toast!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kitchen Sink Cooking: Baked Turkey Pork Meatballs

  1. Pingback: Kitchen Sink Cooking: Freezer Meal Lasagna | Life after the Baby Bump

Leave a Reply

