Kitchen Sink Cooking: Spent Grain Bread

I got Hubby a home brewing subscription kit for Christmas… he already has it and is half way through brewing his first batch (you know there is going to be a post about that at some point).  After he was done with the grains, he asked me if I wanted to use them to make bread (BrewCrate had suggested it in their instructions to do so, good idea!)… why not?

IMG_5187
It was Little Brother’s bday so I was calling him anyway and mentioned that I researching recipes for spent grain bread.  As an avid home brewer and maker of all things food, he gave me some pointers on how to toast some of the grains and turn it into flour.

Here is what was created:

Spent Grain Bread (Adapted from a Home Brew Talk post)

1 cup water
2 1/2 cups white bread flour (plus a couple tbsp. if your bread is too wet)
1/2 cup toasted spent grain flour
1 1/2 tbsp. dry milk
1 1/2 tbsp. honey
1 1/2 tsp. salt
2 tbsp. butter
1 cup (or more, depends on you!) spent grains
2 tsp. fast rise yeast OR 3 tsp. active dry yeast

IMG_5186To make the spent grain flour – take a cup of spent grain and put into a baking dish, single layer.  Cook at 250 for 45mins to an hour, checking frequently, until dry but not burnt.  Once cool, put into a food processor and blend until flour-like.  Unfortunately, my parent’s food processor is out of commision, so I used a blender… not quite as smooth, but it worked in a pinch.

IMG_5188Add all ingredients in the order above.  If your grains are particularly wet, you may need to add more wheat/white flour – because of this I actually decreased the water by 1/8 of a cup and ended up adding a couple of tbsp of flour during the initial mixing stage of my bread because the dough was too wet (sticking to the sides while mixing).

Set onto a wheat setting or something similar.  This will make a large loaf.

IMG_5218I have since made three loaves of bread using the grains from one batch of beer.  I froze additional grain in one cup amounts.  The third loaf I defrosted in the oven and toasted the oats.  I did not make this into four and just used them whole.  This did change the amount of water and flour needed, but not drastically.  I was able to add a bit of flour to the mixture during the initial mixing phase of the bread machine.

The bread is delish!  I really like the texture and the flavor.  The bread is not overly grain-texture filled, but feels hearty.  Very nice toasted with scrambled eggs or for a good hearty sandwich.

I am really looking forward to my husband’s next day one of brewing so I can make more breads! IMG_5258

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

