Merry Christmas Hands!

I’m a Miami Dolphin’s fan, as are my parents and my brother… Hubby, he doesn’t really have a team that he loves.  This Sunday, the Fins played the Patriots and I decided it might be fun to have some Pats fans over to watch the game, good hearted competition always makes things more interesting.

Luckily, Monkey’s little friend’s dad is a Pats fan, so Monkey also had a play date!

After the game, Hubby and Pats Fan decided to play a card game, so I was on toddler duty.  Alas, no fellow mommy as she was feeling under the weather.  The kiddos are amazingly good for two under twos! But what to do with them…? After snack I decided to do something crazy, make Christmas trees out of their handprints!

I am shocked to say that they did very well.  Little Friend even said, “Monkey’s turn” after I did his hand prints.  I guess they must be learning something in Daycare (they are currently in the same class).

IMG_4621

Supplies
Canvas
Multiple colors of paint
Couple paint brushes (thin and thick)
Able and willing toddler(s)
Baby wipes

There are no pictures of the process, basically because trying to keep paint off of two toddlers clothing (which was mostly accomplished) and trying to get it onto the canvas is about all the juggling I am good at on a Sunday afternoon!

Paint one hand (or both if you are really ambitious) and start by placing a hand toward the top of the canvas and then layer them in a pyramid pattern. Try and line the fingers up so they stick out on the sides creating “branches,” otherwise you end up with lots of sides of hands and a less of a “tree” look.

At the bottom use brown to make a little trunk and then red (or a color of your choice) to make a base.

Use a blow dryer to dry the paint (or just wait until it dries), then use multiple colored paints and a thin tipped brush to make the tree decorations. I decided to make multiple colored baubles and tinsel for my trees… oh and a star on the top of the tree too!

Overall, I think they came out how I envisioned they would.  Plus, now I have a little something for our friends for Christmas 🙂

IMG_4622

Monkey’s

IMG_4623

Little Friend’s

 

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Christmas, Parenting, Projects In-an-Evening, Seasonal, Toddler Art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

