Kitchen Sink Cooking: White Chocolate, Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

IMG_4505The tree is up and decorated, the mantle is covered in stockings, there is close to 100 snowmen frolicking around the living room, and Santa is everywhere you turn… as my father put it “Christmas threw up in the living room.”

So now it’s time for COOKIES!

Why on earth this appears to be the “cookie season” for me, I have no real clue.  I can make them other times of the year… and I guess I often do, but this year I have been bitten by the cupcake bug so my cookie baking has been lacking.  Enter multiple cookie-needing-events.

So what to make?  I have a go-to Oatmeal Raisin Cookie recipe, it’s actually just the Vanishing Quaker Oatmeal Cookie Recipe slightly modified (basically just the prep before cooking and slightly more cinnamon and vanilla) that I just love.  A few years ago I decided to change things up.  It was Thanksgiving and raisin cookies just didn’t seem to fit… Ah-ha! What about white chocolate chips and Craisins?  This recipe was born (and they were all eaten within a day… maybe two).

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 Cup (1 stick) plus 6 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 3/4 Cup firmly packed brown sugar
  • 1/2 Cup granulated sugar
  • 2 Eggs (room temperature preferred)
  • 1 Teaspoon vanilla (I honestly just use a splash, so probably 1 1/2 teaspoons…)
  • 1-1/2 Cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 Teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/2 Teaspoon salt (optional)
  • 3 Cups Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked)
  • 1 Cup white chocolate chips
  • 3/4 Cup Craisins

I prefer to make the cookie dough the day before I need it and refrigerating it… why?  Allegedly it helps the flour absorb the moisture, the gluten to activate, and…. who really knows what it does, but I believe it makes a more chewy, rounded cookie vs. a crunchy, flatter cookie.  They both taste great, just my preference!

IMG_4500

 

So if you can’t wait – pre-heat your oven to 350°F… if you have time, let the dough chill and bake them later (may need to adjust cooking times from cold vs. room temp).

In large bowl, cream butter and sugars with a hand or stand mixer.  Add eggs one at a time and vanilla; beat until combined.  Combine flour, baking soda, and salt (if using); then add slowly to “wet” mixture until combined.  Stir one cup of oats in at a time with a wooden spoon and then add white chocolate chips and Craisins (this mixture will be really really thick).  The refrigerate dough or cook!

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets. Bake 8 to 10 minutes (10-15 from cold) or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered and enjoy!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

