Halloween Toddler Art: Hand Print Spider and Foot Ghost

Last winter a friend of mine and I got together and made winter/Christmas themed kiddo art. We used our munchkins feet as snowmen and reindeer… turned out very cute.  We did something for Valentines day too, also very cute!  So now Halloween is upon us and I wanted to do something fun with Monkey that she can look back on when she is old and grey and say “was my hand really that little?!”

Enter Pinterest!  I found a cute picture using a foot as a spider and a foot as a ghost.  I can do that 🙂

Materials:
Paint (I used black, purple, grey, white, and orange)
Brushes
Canvas

IMG_4161I started by painting the background black, but I wanted a bit more color, so as the black was drying, I added some purple and dragged the brush back and forth to blend the colors.  I did not use too much purple as I did not want a purple background.  I just dropped little bits of purple all over the canvas and blended until I got the look I wanted.  Then I let it dry overnight (simply because I did this at 9PM).

IMG_4162The next day I painted the spider web using a thinner brush.  I wasn’t sure it was big enough, but kept thinking of how small Monkey’s hands are, it turned out to be the perfect size.  I let this dry overnight (again only because it was night when I did it and Monkey was already asleep).

Next I found a cute kid with little hands to paint.  Apparently at Daycare they paint hands often as she handed me her open hand ready for me to paint IMG_4163away! I had only planned on one spider, but she gave me her other hand and insisted that I painted it… so why not add another spider.  I added the little line so the spider was hanging from the web. Then I added eyes and a mouth to make them friendly spiders.

IMG_4166Next I painted her foot white and put that on the canvas. Her toes weren’t quite right so I touched them up (I didn’t press them down correctly) then drew a mouth and eyes.  Lastly I wrote “Boo!” to finish it off.  I really like how it came out.  Alas, my friend is in SoCal and I am in IL so we could not do this together with our munchkins, but thats ok… she got to see it first… text messaging is a wonderful thing!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Halloween, Parenting, Seasonal, Toddler Art and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

