Halloween Bleach Pen Shirt

Before washed and dry (and another project in the background)

Before washed and dry (and another project in the background)

A friend of mine posted on her Facebook page a bleach pen Halloween shirt that she did while her little one was napping. I was inspired! I have no Halloween shirts to wear this year… or Halloween costumes to wear… they are all in the storage unit and I am not going in there just for that.  Plus I am 100% sure that nothing in there would fit me since I am no where near the weight was pre-Monkey (thats ok, we are working on that!).  I went to a Halloween event yesterday with Monkey and met another Mom, her Lion (he really was one, it was his costume!), and her Hubby.  When I called her to say we had arrived, she asked what I was wearing, were we dressed up?  Of course Monkey was (she was a Lady Bug) but not me 😦

Operation I need a Halloween shirt!  But I don’t want to spend much on a shirt… who knows if I will wear it again (maybe if I am preggo with #2 next Halloween… but thats an unknown).  I went on the hunt on how to make a shirt.  I knew she used a bleach pen… it was so easy to find ideas online.

Any chalk with do, I just used Monkey's sidewalk chalk... little harder since it was bigger.

Any chalk with do, I just used Monkey’s sidewalk chalk… little harder since it was bigger.

What you need:
A t-shirt (black if you want the picture to be orange, but other colors work)
Bleach Pen
Cardboard
Chalk

 

 

IMG_4153 IMG_4152

 

I put the cardboard inside the shirt, sketched out what I wanted to do with the chalk, and then started bleaching.

 

With the bleach and the chalk still on the shirt.

With the bleach and the chalk still on the shirt.

The pen was very easy to use and I think it took me about 30 mins to do the whole shirt.  I let it sit for about an hour (while I worked on another project), then washed the bleach off in the sink.  I then threw the shirt in with a load of washing (I did it was rags so I wasn’t worried about any residual bleach).

IMG_4156

Right bottom corner

Spider!

Spider!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in DIY, Halloween, Parenting, Projects In-an-Evening, Seasonal and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

