After Bump Bum: Newborn Cloth Diapering

Monkey has sailed past one year and is continuing to fly through the months, so I have long since packed away her newborn diapers. It was a very sad day, they are so little and cute!

Many people said I would not make it past a few weeks… we are coming up on fifteen months!  I am no way an expert, but I do feel like I learned some important lessons from those first few months.

Double Gusset: Helpful poop-catching technology

Double Gusset: Helpful poop-catching technology

Don’t get me wrong, we had to trouble shoot and had a couple good messes (usually she would poop while I was walking through a store, holding her on her side, and nursing… poop on your hand is never a good thing when looking for milk… ) but obviously the issues weren’t too bad or we would never made it this far!

The best option I found was prefolds and covers (check below for links to my fav products). My little Monkey was skinny and had chicken legs, making pocket diapers or most AIOs (All In Ones) gape around her legs.  The issue with a non-snug leg fit with an EBF baby is the poop is very liquid… and liquid, well, flows… I found the best covers were the one with double gussets as the poop was contained well within the prefold and cover.  The number of covers with a double gusset is limited, but they were my fav by far.

Look at those little chicken legs!

Look at those little chicken legs!

Some people are worried about prefolds and think that they are complicated… Hubby is a pro at prefolds and he has no fine motor skills what so ever! He can attest that prefolds really aren’t complicated. I prefer the Angel Wing Fold because you make a poop pocket and have the ability to shorten long prefolds by folding the back up.  Prefolds are cheaper, can be used for multiple babies, and are easy to wash (not that cloth is complicated to wash in general).

I also prefer a Snappi over traditional diaper pins. I don’t trust myself to not stab Monkey, let alone Hubby. She is squiggliy little thing!  There is another option, a Boingo, but I have not tried these so can not say how they differ.  Some people like them better for little boys as they feel like they do not squish their bits.  Snappi is a three legged grip that looks like a “Y”.  The top arms of the “Y” attach on the hips and the bottom part attaches to the crotch.  A Boingo has two parts, two straight clips that attach each side.

Speaking of poop, if your baby is exclusively breast fed you don’t need to wash the poop off the diaper. We did because we have nosy dogs and I did not want poopy diaper all over my house!  We used a diaper sprayer which was attached to the toilet, very easy and not as nasty as you might think… then again once you have been pooped on, your definition of nasty changes a bit.  Just toss in your diaper pail (for us that’s a trash can with a liner) and wash.  Nothing special needs to happen to them.

Washing is not hard either, but that is for another day.

Links:
Keep in mind these are the products I found and used. I have not received anything from these retailers or brands (but if they want to send me things I’m ok with that!).  I should also note that I have some covers and wet bags that Monkey’s Granna made (she also made custom burp clothes… find her on Etsy).
Prefolds – Cottonbabies
Prefolds – Diaper Junction, Diaper Rite
Gusset Cover – Rumparooz
Gusset Cover – Thirsties Duo Wrap
Wet Bag – Planet Wise
Pail Liner – Plant Wise

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cloth Diapers and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to After Bump Bum: Newborn Cloth Diapering

  1. Steph says:

    I agree w/ you. I am borrowing prefold diapers for my #2 and I LOVE them! The rest of our diapers are All in Ones… (BumGenius). I like the Bumgenius for my older one, but I am finding that the prefolds don’t leak (if folded correctly). :o) I like the snappi as well. I didn’t want to try prefolds for my first because I thought it was more work, but I feel like it’s more work cleaning up after leaks (something that I haven’t experienced with the prefolds). We’re doing cloth for our two and don’t see us going to disposable any time soon (unless on vacay or emergencies).

    • ELBL says:

      I completely agree! I really like having a mix of diapers and types… we really still use mostly prefolds even at 15 months as we just find it easy! Plus, we will unlikely need to buy much more when we have #2 😀

  2. Pingback: After Bump Bum: What’s on the Bum? | Life after the Baby Bump

Leave a Reply

