Monkey Vs. Food

While preggo I never considered a few things/concepts that in retrospect that I should/could/might have wanted to… there is so much info out there and as a first time parent I had no idea where to focus my attention.  Some things I have bumped into, other things I have figured out, and some I have looked back and said, “well that could have gone a whole lot better if I had just know X.”  Oh well, that’s what number two is for right… fixing all the screw-ups!  (As a little disclaimer, both Hubby and I are the oldest in our immediate family.  Hubby does have half siblings he did not live with and step-siblings that are older).

Anyway… Monkey is an eating machine.  I am so glad that it seems that her food sensitivities were only through my milk… she will eat anything and everything in sight!  I was chatting with a friend of mine tonight about all things baby and we started to talk about what we are feeding out little ones (her Munchkin is a couple weeks older than Monkey).  She commented that she wants to start feeding more table foods, but her Hubby is worried about Munchkin choking.  I started to tell her what we have been doing.  Basically we give her whatever we are eating (she is 8 months now).  I don’t give her chunks of meat just because she does not have teeth and I worry about her chewing up the meat.  She has had meat in things (she loved turkey pot pie and beef stew), but its usually shredded and mixed in with gravy, potato, and veg.  When we have something like that it is a good thing that bath time is after dinner!  Somehow it always ends up her nose…

We do still help her with getting the food into her mouth, but we generally do not sit there with a spoon and feed her unless we don’t want a mess, it oatmeal, or a similar texture.  She had cheese and puffs tonight for dinner (yeah, I know not the best dinner).  She can eat the puffs without any help, but is still working on the cheese.  She can get it most of the time, but still likes me to feed her the occasional bit.  It is super helpful to have her feed herself as it opens us up to be able to eat dinner together verses in shifts while we take care of Monkey’s needs too.

I logged onto a Baby Board that I belong to and saw a post for “Share your BLW pics here!” and opened it.  Apparently Hubby and I are doing BLW (Baby Led Weaning) and never really knew it.  I had heard the term thrown around and another friend even asked me if we were going to do it… but I never really understood what it was.  I saw another friend feeding her Pumpkin pasta, cheese, and zucchini for lunch (he is three and a bit months older) and thought, ‘hmmmm cheese, Monkey can have cheese!’  She had already had zucchini spears at Claim Jumper and a fry or two when out at places…

I found a pretty good site on BLW go here to take a look.

Mmmmmm eats!

Mmmmmm eats!

Now she has eaten so many things I have lost count!  Above she is eating (from left to right, top to bottom) chicken masala, zucchini, bacon, beef stew, and scrambled eggs

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

