Kitchen Sink Cooking: Beef Risotto, Cranberry Pineapple Chicken, Homemade Hamburgers

It has been awhile!  I have been slacking a bit with making my weekly menus, I still generally have a good idea of what we are eating and do tend to prep some stuff… but I really need to get back into the swing of things!  Work has been crazy busy, but not having a menu for the week is an added stress that we just don’t need.  So this week will likely the be the last one of the year as next week Hubby, Monkey, and I will be with our family for Christmas.  We have people from all over converging on one place for a few days.  It’s going to be great (and hopefully drama free!) few days in wine country (yum).

So what is for dinner this week you ask? Here we go!

Whats for Dinner Dec 16 2012

Beef Risotto

Beef Risotto is something I tend to do with left over roast beef so it is likely not quite the high class risotto that you see on the Food Network, but its a good comfort food and uses up leftovers 🙂  I cube up my leftover roast beef, cook my rice and any veg (usually frozen peas and whatever is in the fridge), and combine.  I usually cook the raw veg first, add the meat to warm it through, add the rice and any sauce (I will be using leftover gravy with a bit of water to thin it… English gravy is thick).  That’s it!  It’s a quick and easy dish… can’t really screw it up.

Cranberry Pineapple Chicken

I am adapting Cranberry Orange Chicken because I don’t have orange juice, don’t want to buy an entire thing just for this recipe, and have frozen pineapple juice.  Instead of the bone-in chicken breasts, I will be using chicken thighs because it will be cooking for an extended period of time and the thighs have more fat and can stand up to longer cooking in the slow cooker.

Homemade Hamburgers

These are super super easy and oh so yummy!  I take a high quality (low fat content) ground beef, ground pork/sausage meat, and mesquite seasoning from Costco.  Combine and make into 4oz patties.  I learned last time I made these that I need to flatten them out more because they became more like hamburger balls than patties when cooked.  I froze them between parchment paper in a zip-top bag for a quick meal in the week.  Just throw on a hot grill, top with your choice of toppings, and serve with a side of your choice 🙂  Very versatile!

Tacos

These a so simple.  We don’t use a packet mix, but use El Pato Sauce added to cooked ground beef and simmered until thicken.  We prefer flour tortillas instead of hard taco shells, personal preference.

Hope everyone has a merry Christmas!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

