Kitchen Sink Cooking: Cinnamon Roll Pancakes

My brother and sister-in-law were going to be coming by for a later lunch, so I wanted to have a bigger breakfast to hold us over… ok, so really I just wanted an excuse to have Hubby take Monkey so that I could make pancakes!  Not that I needed an excuse, but apparently I thought I needed one… 🙂

I wanted a fall-ish recipe and had planned on making pumpkin pancakes because a friend of mine had given me some pumpkin butter and I thought that would be delish together.  The pumpkin recipes I found wanted a few tablespoons of pumpkin, which I have, but its frozen as part of a large quantity to use in soups, breads, or cakes.  Thinking back, I have mini pumpkins sitting outside my house… I should have baked one… oh well, maybe next week.

I stumbled upon this recipe: Cinnamon Roll Pancakes.  Hubby LOVES cinnamon… so I figured why not.  I did not make the Cream Syrup because I did not have the heavy cream.  I made a minor change adding vanilla to the batter and I did not have liquid buttermilk:

FOR THE PANCAKES:

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • pinch of baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk milk (I used dried buttermilk so mine called for 4 tablespoons powder/1 cup water)
  • 1 tablespoon canola oil
  • 1 large egg, lightly beaten (I used two eggs because although my eggs were labeled “large” I really questioned that… they were the size of a large golf ball…)
  • splash of vanilla (less than a tablespoon)

FOR THE CINNAMON FILLING:

  • 1/2 cup butter, melted
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar, packed
  • 1 tablespoon ground cinnamon (I didn’t really measure… I just kinda dumped some in)
  • 3 tablespoons flour

Put all the dry ingredients in your stand mixer bowl and combine (flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, dried buttermilk).  Once combined, add wet ingredients (water, oil, eggs, vanilla) then stir just until the batter is moistened (since I don’t have the spatula attachment for my stand mixer, I did scrape the bowl to make sure it was all combined).

In a small bowl, mix butter, brown sugar and cinnamon. Scoop the filling into a small zip-topped bag and set aside.  Easy way to do this: put the zip-topped inside of a drinking glass (small zip-topped bags, sandwich size, fit perfectly into a 8oz drinking glass).  “Fold” the zipper piece over the rim of the glass so it can’t fall in and just scoop your filling into the bag.  This works with soups, fruit, stew… basically anything that requires you to poor or scoop into the bag.

Sorry for the blur… one handed picture taking is not my strong suit…

 

To cook the pancakes, spray a medium/large skillet with nonstick cooking spray, then heat over medium-low heat.  Pour pancake batter into your heated skillet, then pipe a spiral of the cinnamon filling onto the top of the pancake.  Make sure to only cut the tip of the zip-top bag off and don’t create a large hole or it will make the piping hard to control.

So pretty!

The butter in the cinnamon mixture will melt and turn the sugar crunchy!

 

When bubbles begin to appear on the surface, flip carefully with a thin spatula, and cook until browned on the underside, 1 to 2 minutes more.  I did spray the pancake with non-stick spray before flipping, but I don’t think I really needed to.  I waited to flip until I saw the cinnamon mixture was melted and I could smell the sugar cooking.

 

The outcome was amazing!  I certainly will make these again.  I want to try the cream because I think it will round out the flavors… but regular old syrup and pumpkin butter were good too.  A plus was there were left overs and the next day I put some peanut butter on a pancake and made a breakfast sandwich… probably not super healthy, but a delish breakfast while Monkey was napping (after she decided I needed to be up at 5:30 on a Sunday… Daylight Savings how I love you and screwing with my baby’s schedule…)

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Sink Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

