Monkey vs. Cry-it-Out

Let me start by saying, I am not a huge CIO proponent.  I figured that it had it’s place and knew at some point I would have to do it.  A friend of mine asked me about it when her son was around the six month mark.  She was having issues with getting him to go to sleep on his own and I told her that around the six month mark babies start to put the pieces together of – I cry… I get picked up… hmmmm.

Monkey got her six month shots on Friday so she was fussy that night.  Saturday she was good and Sunday, fussy again.  I didn’t feel 100% so figured that she must feel the same way.  When she started to fuss and cry for no reason, we decided that she was not feeling good.  Fast forward a few hours.  She has been crying and fussing.  We pick her up, she cries.  We lay her in her crib, she cries.  We put her on her changing table… she smiles and blows bubbles… wait, wha…?

So I decided to put her in her swing in out living room and observe.  In retrospect I should have just put her in her crib, but oh well!  She cried and fussed and cried and fussed… then I started talking to Hubby and she cried…fussed…blew bubbles…went quiet…cried…blew bubbles…got quiet… son-of-a…!  I got into the shower and Hubby kept playing his game.  Guess what, she was out before I got in the damn shower!

Yeah, Monkey has learned to manipulate us to her will.  Let the fun begin!  Tomorrow night she is going into her crib and I’m getting into the shower with the radio on (Hubby will have the video monitor so he can see (not hear…head phones!) her from afar.

So, now I know when to use CIO… when she blows bubbles and smiles in between cries.

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

