Kitchen Sink Cooking: Butternut Squash and Pumpkin Soup, Slow Cooker Roast Beef, Slow Cooker Apricot Chicken, and Mushroom Coconut Soup

I am finding myself turning more and more to my slow cooker.  This weekend I made two soups, which caused the house to smell wonderful!  One of the soups is for me for work, its Coconut Cream Mushroom Soup.  Don’t let the name fool you, its not really a cream soup… there is only a cup of coconut milk in this and that is in no way a cream soup.  I did not use the homemade version, I had some left over in my fridge that I wanted to use up… hence this recipe.  It smells amazing and I can’t want to eat it.

We already ate the Butternut Squash and Pumpkin Soup.  The original recipe called for a whole butternut squash, but I only had half of one left from the Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta I made last week.   So I added some pumpkin puree that I had in the freezer.  I preferred this recipe to the Pumpkin Soup.  The apple flavor rounded out the taste and the spices added a little something.  I have frozen the left over soup in muffin tins as suggested by theKitchn and plan to take them to work frozen.

A friend of mine suggested making roast beef in a slow cooker… I’m game.  I am going to make a few changes to this recipe.  I plan to use dried onion along with other spices to limit to salt in the base recipe (I prefer to be able to just add it after verses wish we could take some out) and I am also using reduced sodium soy sauce.  I might throw in some beef broth… but I am undecided.  Plus I think I will sear the beef before cooking it (if I remember!).  I am going to throw in the carrots and the potatoes to cook with the beef (another reason to maybe add some broth).

Lastly, I am trying Slow Cooker Apricot Chicken over rice.  The only thing I needed to buy was apricot preserves as we have everything else.  Usually I would just use a jam that my mum has made, but she isn’t local anymore and I don’t think she has any apricot jam anyway!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Sink Cooking, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

