Kitchen Sink Cooking: Bacon Cornish Game Hen; Oxtail Soup; Pumpkin Soup; Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta; Cashew Chicken

It’s October!  Time for pumpkin patches, cool temps (we have actually made it under 90 degrees woohoo!), and comfort foods… so excited!

Oh and HALLOWEEN… I love it and can not wait to dress Monkey up as anything and everything cute!

If only all Monkey’s could be cute!

Alright… so meals thus far:

We already ate the Pumpkin Soup, the Oxtail Barley Soup, and the Bacon Wrapped Cornish Game Hen.

The Pumpkin Soup, for us was missing something.  I did make a couple slight changes, I used a cup more pumpkin and only one sweet potato… we cooked the pumpkin that Monkey was in and had tons of roasted pumpkin flesh to use!  Hubby and I agreed that it needed something, I added sour cream to mine (so glad I am have dairy again… one day I will get to a post about that but anyway) and I think that helped.  Hubby added hot sauce, but still felt it was lacking something.  I think with some sour cream, oh and cheese, that it was better.  It did not taste bad in the beginning, and it smelled wonderful… there was just something… I have a ton left over in the fridge for lunch this week, so maybe I will figure it out.

Oxtail Soup… this I cooked on Monday night over night, put in the fridge while we were at work, and then scooped off the fat and cooked it again.  I did not use the quick cook barley and it was fine with two long cook sessions (maybe 8 hours each).  I think it needed more beef flavor, but Hubby thought it tasted just fine.  I have left overs in the fridge for either lunch or to freeze for another meal.  It needed to cook twice because the meat was still a bit tough and the potatoes were not quite cooked; however, I think it was my slow cooker.  I think I need a bigger one!  Hmmmm once we have a bigger house to store it in.

Cornish Game Hen… this is a recipe that I have used before.  It’s from Stephanie O’Dea’s site and she says something silly about throwing out the bacon before you eat it… yeah, not happening!  Also, I used a frozen game hen since mine had not defrosted… it was fine.  I felt like it was a tad bit dry, but by the time we got to eat it, it had been cooking for 12 hours!  Whoops… we had a long busy day!  I grabbed some zucchini that I had sliced and frozen (left over from my summer zucchini harvest) and made some mash potatoes… yum.  We have another frozen game hen and this will be the recipe that I turn to when I decide to make it.  Its great because we can have “roast chicken” without too much for the two of us to eat.

This week we will be trying the Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta, but I need to find another cheese to use.  Hubby is not a fan of strong cheeses and I think I might be pushing my luck with this recipe… we shall see!  We went to a pumpkin patch/farm today and bought cashews… so I decided to make a Cashew Chicken in the slow cooker… we shall see!  It says to use thighs, I’m guessing because of the fat content making less dry chicken… but I don’t have any and we are tight on cash this weekend, so shopping for food will be limited this weekend.  We are working with whats in the kitchen this week!  This is also why I am pulling things from the freezer.  I always have Buitoni Pasta in my freezer, makes for a quick and easy meal one night!

End of Week Review:

Ok so the Cashew Chicken was a HUGE success with Hubby.  He told me to put multiple stars and smilie faces next to this one, which is amazing because I NEVER get feedback from Hubby about food… unless it is “that was really my thing.”

The Roasted Butternut Squash and Bacon Pasta was pretty good.  I would prefer it to be more cheesey, but Hubby ate it and didn’t freak out about the cheese content, so I will count it at as win.

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Gardening, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

