What’s for dinner: September recap!

I swear I have not been slacking… I just haven’t been keeping up with my typing.  I have, however, been sticking to making my weekly menu and prepping everything on Sunday.  The menu is flexible, so this week for instance, we did not have the salad I had scheduled for Thursday because I had eaten late at work, we then went out on Friday night… so the meals for those two nights moved to Saturday and Sunday instead.
Some of the winners are:

  1. Crockpot Acorn Squash – Although, hubby found it bland… so I think next time it needs some cinnamon or maybe pumpkin spice… I found it buttery (and I can have butter again! woohoo! another post at another time!)
  2. Shredded Chicken – see below
  3. Slow Cooker Chili – used this for baked potato toppings twice and freezes great!
  4. Slow Cooker Chipotle-Lime Chicken Thighs with Jamaican Rice and Peas – I left out the peas, only because I forgot them 🙂
  5. Slow-Cooked Lamb Chops

I have not made the Autumn Sausage Casserole yet as this is for this week and the Pumpkin Risotto was something that I made last fall and is still in my freezer!  I will have to dig out that recipe, its in a magazine somewhere.

The salads are easy with me prepping the lettuce ahead of time and sometimes cooking the protein, I usually cook the chicken ahead of time, but not the pork or steak.

Shredded Chicken

I have been making this for a few years and it is usually my go to for pot-lucks or Mexican themed parties.  So simple and you can do it over night if you need to.

Ingredients

  • Chicken breasts (I used 4 for my meal, I was serving 3 and wanted left overs.  I have had two lunches and froze three more portions from that).
  • Salsa (hotness of your choice, chunky or not does not matter everything will cook to nothing)
  • Large onion sliced
  • Chipotle seasoning (I usually use a bouillon cube that is chipotle flavored, just adds heat and flavor, so not a must!)

Directions:

  • Toss everything in your slow cooker (chicken can be frozen, mine always is) and cook all day while at work or over night.  The take a fork and shred the chicken.  Serve with tortillas and toppings of your choice or over tortilla chips for variation on nachos.
About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking, Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

