Furbabies meet Monkey: When Worlds Collide

Meet Gambit!

While pregnant I was always concerned about when we would bring our little bundle of joy home, how would the furbabies react.  I talked to our vet about ways to introduce them safely and she suggested that I enter the home first and allow them to say hi to me. Then someone else could bring Monkey in and let them say hi to her.

Meet Bodie

My vet’s reasoning was that I would smell different and be different, so our furbabies might associate Monkey with that change (rightly so) and be jealous. Both Gambit and Bodie acted slightly different while I was preggo. Gambit was very protective of me. He would follow me everywhere, including the bathroom. He wouldn’t let me go into the bathroom without him checking things out first and then he would wait for me to finish before leaving. Bodie appeared more affectionate and also tried to fight my brother’s dog, but we aren’t sure if it was me or if it was because Jack was playing with a ball… we just know that he would only do it when I was around.

We had to leave our furbabies home alone while we were in the hospital and our neighbors watched them for us. When we first came home from the hospital with Monkey, our furbabies where there to greet us. I went in first and they said their hellos, then hubby brought Monkey in to visit. They had never met a baby before as small as her (as far as we know, they were both strays), but they came right over and gave her a kiss. We knew that they were good with children in general because they had been around toddlers that screamed and pulled and grabbed them, but we weren’t about to just them lose around her. We made sure to hold onto them when they said their hellos just to be safe.

Monkey did not know what to make of them, being only a few days old.  But she did not cry when they said hello with a big kiss.

It took awhile for everyone to adjust to each other. Gambit started off being afraid of her because she cried a ton at first. Bodie would come and sit by her and make sure she was ok every time she cried. The first night home, Bodie got on the bed with me when I fed her.

Gambit kisses

Now, four months later, everyone seems to get along.  Monkey watches them play when she does her tummy time and Gambit is always ready to let us know when her diaper needs changing! Gambit loves to give Monkey kisses every morning and she smiles at him when he does it. She has also started to talk to him and try to grab at his face when he comes to say hi. Bodie has become less interested, but I think that will change once she is mobile!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

