Kitchen Sink Cooking: Smashed Potato Salad

A great summer substitute for the traditional potato salad.  I’ve never been in love with the traditional potato salad.  It seemed to heavy for me, plus I was always wary of potato salad that had been sitting out for awhile in the sun… ewww.

As part of my crusade to find foods that I can eat and not upset Monkey, I stumbled upon Smashed Potato Salad. My hubby is not a huge fan of mayo anyway, so this worked nicely. I first made it for a BBQ we were having at our place. I followed the recipe to a t and it was delish. The second and third times I have skipped the cooking in the oven and have just roughly smashed the potatoes before mixing in the other ingredients. I found that because I make this in advance (generally) that the potatoes lose their crunch and, therefore, the extra step is not needed… plus it heats up the house and its hot as hell in SoCal!

I have substituted a good stone ground mustard (chunkier the better) for the mustard seeds and found it gave a great flavor. I don’t use fresh dill or parsley and, again, since I make this head of time have not found it effects the dish. Don’t leave out the bell pepper (if you hate it, substitute it for something else with a crunch) as the crunch is needed for sure. I prefer the lemon taste, especially the zest, but in a pinch you could use a bright and not sweet vinegar.

image
Feel Free to substitute, you know I will!

Some suggestions on changes to make, from left to right: cucumber, jicama, bell pepper, flavored vinegar, celery, flavored olive oil, and tomatoes. As I said, some type of crunch to add to texture; the tomatoes to me look like they would add a nice color and they are a great summer flavor; I love flavored oils and vinegars, a simple way to add flavor.

My finished dish is in the middle in a big o’l tupperware to store in the fridge overnight. You can eat this dish warm or cold. I have had it both ways and I like it warm and cold! I think that it depends on what you are serving with it. It doesn’t need to be cold which is great for those hot days outside for a BBQ.

Enjoy!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Cooking and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

