A “Wonder Week” what?

So you hear about growth spurts for babies, a time where they feed more to up your supply to meet their needs; however, I apparently missed the “wonder week” chapter.  Monkey is now 16 weeks and has been a fussy, unpredictable mess for about a week, give or take.  I text messaged my friend bitching about how Monkey had woken me up at 2am screaming her ever living head off (yeah, hubby kept on sleeping… shocking).  The night before she slept through the night, although she did wake at 11:30pm after eating less than an hour before and wanted to comfort nurse, she went to sleep after like ten minutes.  The night before that, she woke me up at 2am chatting away in her bassinet and then decided she wanted to eat every two hours after that.  This type of pattern had been going on for almost a week and I was beginning to want to return to work just to have a break for the nutty baby!  (Although I would likely regret that as she would still be waking up at 2am to freak out and then I would have to get up and deal with the general public on limited sleep… not really thinking this through… anyway…).

So once I got crazy Monkey to take a random nap (she had just had one… and fell asleep while I was walking around because she did not want me to sit and play with her in one place… diva) I Googled “4 month wonder week” and found a very helpful blog post When are the Wonder Weeks that gave me a chart of when a wonder week should start and stop… guess what, one starts around 15 weeks and ends around 17 weeks.  Awesome, my last two weeks at home with you and you decided to turn into a crazy Monkey.

So what is a “wonder week” you may ask.  The author of the above blog said it perfectly, so I will not reinvent the wheel:

A wonder week is like a growth spurt for the brain. It happens quickly and over a relatively short period of time. And it is really upsetting to a baby. Her perception of the world suddenly changes and she perceives it in a whole new light. As you can imagine, it is pretty distressing and confusing for such a tiny person.

Because of this, she may act very fussy for a short time as she adjusts to all the changes. These changes are a good thing though. They cause her to assimilate information in a new way which helps her advance in her physical and mental skills.

Some babies will pick up more skills than others at each leap. A lot of it has to do with your baby’s interests. Try not to stress about it 🙂  What is a Wonder Week

Ok, great you are learning a new skill! I’m so excited (unless it means you are about to start crawling, which you kinda act like you might… I really don’t want to baby proof a house right now!).

How can you tell that your baby is experiencing a wonder week? Hey look, the author did this great too… thanks!

Here’s the list of SIGNS that a Wonder Week is about to start. The signs near the bottom of the list are more likely to happen with older babies.

  • Clinginess
  • Crankiness
  • Crying
  • Demands extra attention from caregiver
  • Fussiness
  • Sleep badly (won’t fall asleep, wake often, wake early in the morning etc)
  • Restless sleeper
  • Wants to be held all day
  • May wanted to be treated like a tiny baby again (if she isn’t still a tiny baby)
  • Extra cuddly with you or with objects
  • Loss of appetite
  • Stranger anxiety
  • Moody
  • Listless and Preoccupied and daydreamy
  • Wants to suck or nurse much more
  • Shyness
  • Refuse to have diaper or clothes changed
  • Regression of behavior and physical abilities
  • Jealousy
  • Mischievousness
  • Acts sweet (to get attention)
  • More temper tantrums

Signs a Wonder Week is about to Start

As I read over that list I had an “aha” moment… damn it, she’s awake… and there’s the crying!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

