Kitchen Sink Cooking: Organic Dry Rub Pork with Corn on the Cob and Mediterranean Couscous

I always have pork and steak in my freezer ready to go for those evenings when my hubby or I have no desire to put effort into cooking.  Granted the prep does take a bit of time, but I do this on an day/evening when hubby is home or Monkey is napping so that I don’t have to worry about her.

We buy most meat in bulk at Costco and then I divide it into portion sizes for hubby and I.  I use my Food Saver to vacuum seal the meat with the seasonings inside the pouch and then throw the package into the freezer.

Rub purchased at Costco, pork is sealed and frozen, ready for a quick meal!

As a result, when you want an easy meal, pull out a package, defrost the meat in the package, take the meat out of the package (have to add that just in case someone grilled their meat inside a food saver bag and sued me for their level of common sense…) throw on grill (or your preferred cooking method; if grilling with a dry rub you might want to add a bit of oil to prevent burning), and make some easy sides.

Got a little charred while hubby was changing Monkey… still good 🙂

Couscous is an easy and versatile side as you can flavor it with anything to match you dish.  I am using a couscous blend tonight which is more pasta than couscous.

Corn is a great summer food and I have learned to love it without all the fixings since Monkey cannot tolerate dairy and as a result I am still dairy free too… man I miss cheese!  The corn I get is already de-husked  so I don’t grill it.  I boil it on the stove top for a few minutes until the corn is golden colored.  Other sides for the grill include packets of zucchini, mushrooms, potatoes, and broccoli.  Just take some foil, put the vegetable in the center of the foil, add seasonings and preferred fat/oil (not a must, but sometimes the vegetables can stick to the foil or burn with some amount of fat/oil), and fold up the sides to create a pouch.  Put potatoes on before the meat as they can take 30-40 minutes to cook and add the tender vegetables at the same time as the meat (for most meats, thin cuts of meat cook quickly, so adjust vegetable cook times accordingly).

When making a baked or jacket potato (including sweet potatoes) rub a bit of oil on the skin, season as desired, cover in foil, and place on grill.  When using new potatoes or ones with thin skin, simply slice or dice the potatoes before placing the packet.

Enjoy!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Kitchen Sink Cooking and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

