Six week growth spurt: AKA topless in SoCal

As I type this one handed in the middle of a two hour feeding frenzy that is split up by 20 minutes or so of rest (which involves a diaper change, bathroom break for me, grabbing a snack, and sitting back down to start again), I now understand the allure of formula.  You can sit down with a bottle and just feed your way through this growth spurt.  I could still switch… but nah… glutton for punishment I guess.

Someone brought it to my attention that in corporate America we are usually returning to work six weeks postpartum (eight weeks for a cesarian section) which corresponds so nicely with this growth spurt… how on earth would you be able to keep up with breastfeeding your little one while at work?  I’m so lucky that I am not returning to work yet.  Not only do we not have this breastfeeding thing quite figured out, but there is no way I would be able to keep up with this little monkey’s demand if I was at work.  Another reason why I can see why mother’s give up around now.  Their supply isn’t “low” or “drying up” its that your little one is growing quicker than you can keep up with because you are at work and your baby can’t be attached to your boob like mine has been for most of the day.

I won’t lie, I hope this doesn’t continue forever… I have a bunch of zucchini in my garden that are just crying out to be made into zucchini bread and that break you are giving me monkey isn’t quite long enough to grate the zucchini let alone bake the loaf…

I really think this Mama puts it perfectly: The Six Week Growth Spurt

P.S. my monkey is totally the squirrel attacking me with her fits!

About Emma BL

In the begining, there was just the two of us, then there were furbabies, and then a baby! We started trying to conceive in Nov 2010, but experienced complications and a miscarriage. Finally in April 2012 we welcomed Monkey and Bear joined in 2015. While preggo and trying to become preggo with Monkey, I often hit the web search for information about what is happening to me and I hope that through sharing my experiences, others gain some knowledge. I am not a doctor, nor do I play one on the internet. So take all my experiences and advice with a grain of salt! Now that Monkey and Bear are around and we have made the transition to parents... we try to answer the question "is there life after the baby bump?"
This entry was posted in Parenting and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

